Hauntings in General

I take a skeptic’s view of haunted places. I think there is always an explanation for the creaks and moans and sounds that occur in old buildings. I sure don’t believe that it has anything to do with unfinished business.

That said, North Carolina is full of places that are said to be haunted. You’ve seen my theories about any explanations in a post about Beaufort, one about the Devil’s Tramping Ground, a post featuring The Moon-eyed People, and the story of Roan Mountain.

In Wilson, North Carolina, a small town just west of Greenville (the home of East Carolina University), there are a couple of places said to be haunted, other than the Whirligigs. One is Montrose Hanger Company. It’s an old building, in a rough part of town. The company itself still exists; they make clothing hangars, but they’ve long since moved out of the building. There are of course the usual account of noises and seeing people who aren’t there when you follow them and just basic spookiness. The building has also been used in the past for some geocaching. It’s creepy, that’s for sure.

Another is old Springfield Middle School, more accurately in Lucama NC. I actually know a group of kids who enjoy “ghost hunting,” as they call it. They’ve been to the haunted old Springfield in the past. There were creaks and noises and bumps. I have no idea if the old school is still there; they built a new one recently.

My personal opinion is that hauntings have nothing to do with the past or any sort of ghosts or unfinished business or what have you.

I think they noises are from people. I don’t know how, or why. But lately, in doing research for this site, I’ve encountered some pretty interesting information. Once I have enough that I feel comfortable with posting it completely, I will.

Until then, stay weird!

11 responses

  1. Josh

    I would like to know the location of the hanger co and what you know about old springfield. i attended it many years ago and was part of the last class to ever use the building.

    December 10, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    • Montrose Hanger Company was located on Railroad Street on the east side of Wilson. I believe at least part of the structure is torn down now, due to age.

      I don’t know a great deal about Old Springfield, as I never went there myself. However, I do know one spooky occurrence that happened to the brother of a friend. It happened a few years ago, when these guys were in high school. They were “ghost-hunting” one night and in the hallway of the old school building. One of them, joking, yelled down the hallway, something like “anyone there?” A few seconds later, a little ball came rolling down the hall to them. They were alone in the building.

      March 8, 2013 at 11:39 am

    • Pat

      sorry to tell all readers the building ( warehouse) is gone. the new owners took it down and sold the wood & bricks. the ghost my still be there or maybe they went with the bricks & wood. only time will tell.

      October 1, 2013 at 11:38 am

    • Pat

      sorry you are too late for the building, it has been torn down and the wood & bricks has been sold. might still see a ghost or 2 down there on the lot. or maybe they went with the bricks. it was a good place to walk & list to the sounds. interesting place to work in.

      October 1, 2013 at 1:01 pm

  2. Thanks for the information! I remember hearing something about part of the building being taken down a little while back.

    October 1, 2013 at 9:59 pm

  3. It is torn down. I am a photographer in the area doing a photo project on small towns and I actually just went and did a shoot out there of what is left of the building. There is very small portion of the building still standing, it is about a 10 x 10 square and is two stories tall and completely open, it makes it all the more eerie. It seems to be the entrance to the building. I will be posting photos from this weekend on my Tumblr later today, please feel free to have a look. http://www.photosmalltownamerica.tumblr.com

    January 6, 2014 at 11:26 am

    • Thank you so much for that link! The pictures are quite a treat to look at. There’s real beauty in a lot of those run down places.

      January 10, 2014 at 10:53 am

  4. Pat

    Sean, enjoy your picture of the old Montrose building. I still work for Montrose. we left the building back in 2005, later the building was sold.

    January 9, 2014 at 2:17 pm

  5. Pingback: Midwestern Weird: Bachelor’s Grove Cemetery | Weirdly Awesome NC

  6. Pingback: Our Weird World: Pieces | Weirdly Awesome NC

  7. Pingback: Weirdly Local: Black Creek and the Mysterious Light | Weirdly Awesome North Carolina

Leave a Reply

